This past Tuesday, August 28, 2012, Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa when speaking about diversity – or lack thereof in the GOP during their convention, said, “You can’t just trot out a brown face or a Spanish surname and expect that people are going to vote for your party, or your candidate.”

[START SOAPBOX]

Really? Isn’t that what both sides of the political aisle have been doing during the last 30 years or so? Now, I am Hispanic, and I am a conservative – I make no apologies for what I believe and why I believe it. America is supposed to be the land of opportunity, NOT the land of freeloading. There are those who believe, as I do, that if you study and work hard and do the right things, you will be rewarded with some modicum of success. There are others, with whom I vehemently disagree, who believe that you don’t have to work if you don’t want to; that everything should be handed to you by the state if you don’t feel you can take care of yourself.

Anyone who disagrees with the last stance is apparently subject to ridicule – anyone! Case in point, Utah City Mayor Mia Love’s Wikipedia page was vandalized this week with racial and sexist epithets. Why? Is this how the one side that calls for “tolerance” acts whenever someone disagrees with them?! Behold the intolerant ones who yelled loudest for tolerance! Behold the exclusionary behavior of those whose mantra was inclusion!

I don’t know who Mayor Villaraigosa thinks he is, but he does NOT speak for all Hispanics/Latinos. We are NOT all liberal democrats who are waiting in line for our handouts. I don’t want welfare, and I don’t want food stamps! What I want is a job provided by as U.S. company on U.S. soil – not owned by a “foreign concern” OR some other foreign entity. I want jobs to stop leaving the U.S. and money to STOP flowing into China. If that makes me incur the ire of the “tolerant” ones, then so be it.

All I want is what is true to our American heritage. I just want to point out one last thing while I’m on the topic of Americana – when did we go from being “America” to being a “multi-culturally rich society?” I am all for celebrating where you came from; that’s a sign of respect to your former country. Trying to shove that culture down peoples’ throats here in the U.S. is a LACK of respect to your current country! I am NOT a “Hispanic-American” and I don’t like those who say they are “Mexican-American,” “Italian-American,” “Irish-American,” etc. The same things goes for those who would divide us by class or race or political party. I am not simply a democrat or a republican! How about this: we are ALL simply “Americans.”

My party isn’t decided by anyone else just because of who I am demographically. I decide. I also decide that I am an American. Period. No hyphen, thank you very much. I love my Hispanic culture, but as an American, I choose to speak English in public with as perfect a pronunciation as I can muster; I also choose to respect American history and values, because this is my home. The U.S.A. is not perfect, but it is my home. I am going to do whatever I have to do to make it a better place for me, my family, my neighbors, and anyone who seeks to live the American dream – NOT the “Mexican-American” dream, etc.

[END SOAPBOX]

Ok, I’m done with my soapbox. I hope you understand I am very passionate about America and the values that made this the best country in the world. I just can’t stand to see her dragged down, and I hope if you’re reading this – whether or not you agree with my views 100% – that you feel the same way too.

Thank you for reading – Ed Martinez, Regular Guy.

